Organization –Structure of ALMA

ALMA is operated in a global partnership under the “Agreement Concerning the Operations of the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA)” which is also known as “the ALMA Agreement”. For the purpose of smooth operation of ALMA, the ALMA agreement sets up the structure of ALMA with the ALMA Board, Director’s Council, ALMA Science Advisory Committee (ASAC), and others.

ALMA Board

The ALMA Board, a supervisory and regulatory body for ALMA, is composed of representatives of three funding Parties: the National Institutes of Natural Sciences (NINS) of Japan; the European Southern Observatory (ESO); and the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), and representatives of the three Executives: the National astronomical Observatory of Japan (NAOJ); ESO, and Associated Universities, Inc. (AUI) / the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO); and representatives of regional user communities.

ALMA Board Members

Please swipe the table to the left and see. Affiliation
East Asia
Toshikazu Onishi (vice-chair) University of Osaka Prefecture
Saku Tsuneta National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
You-Hua Chu Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Satoru Iguchi (assessor) National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
Andreas Kaufer (assessor) European Southern Observatory
Linda Tacconi Max-Planck-Institut für Extraterrestrische Physik, Garching
Daniel Weselka Austrian Federal Ministry for Science and Research
Willy Benz University of Bern
Xavier Barcons European Southern Observatory
North America
James di Francesco National Research Council Canada
Karin Öberg (chair) Harvard University
Tony J. Beasley National Radio Astronomy Observatory
Joseph Pesce (assessor) National Science Foundation
Richard Green National Science Foundation
Luis Chavarría CONICYT

Director’s Council

The Director’s Council was a body established by the ALMA Agreement as a forum to discuss and coordinate activities among the Executives (NAOJ, ESO, and NRAO) and the Joint ALMA Observatory (JAO). The Director’s Council shall actively address any issues where any decisions or actions made by the Executive(s) or the JAO might have an impact on proper functions of ALMA (e.g. scientific/technical operations, human resources, management, education and public outreach, relations with Chile, etc.)

Director’s Council Members

Please swipe the table to the left and see. Affiliation
Sean Dougherty ALMA Director
Saku Tsuneta Director General of the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
Xavier Barcons Director General of the European Southern Observatory
Anthony J. Beasley Director of the National Radio Astronomy Observatory

Advisory Committees

While the ALMA Board is the governing body and primary forum of the ALMA Project to ensure the joint operations of ALMA in a global partnership, there are external (independent) advisory committees to discuss specific matters regarding science, technology, human resources, finance, and administration, etc. Each advisory committee addresses a wide variety of issues from a viewpoint of the entire ALMA Project as well as from the regional viewpoint considering respective Executive’s circumstances.

ALMA Science Advisory Committee (ASAC)

Please swipe the table to the left and see. Affiliation
East Asia
Kotaro Kohno (Deputy Chair) The University of Tokyo
Nami Sakai RIKEN
Jongsoo Kim KASI
Eva Schinnerer (Chair) Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie
Huib Van Langevelde Joint Institute for VLBI in Europe
Roberto Neri IRAM
Kirsten Kraiberg Knudsen Chalmers University of Technology
North America
Christine Wilson McMaster University
Daniel Marrone University of Arizona
Giles Novak Northwestern University
Stephen White Air Force Research Laboratory
Manuel Aravena Universidad Diego Portales

Japanese ALMA Science Advisory Committee(JSAC)

Please swipe the table to the left and see. Affiliation
Kotaro Kohno (Chair) The University of Tokyo
Nami Sakai (Deputy Chair) RIKEN
Akio Inoue Osaka Sangyo University
Hiroshi Imai Kagoshima University
Hideo Sagawa Kyoto Sangyo University
Munetake Momose Ibaraki University
Tohru Nagao Ehime University
Hideko Nomura Tokyo Institute of Technology
Tomoharu Oka Keio University
Toshikazu Onishi Osaka Prefectural University
Kengo Tachihara Nagoya University
Hiroko Shinnaga Kagoshima University

ALMA East Asian Science Advisory Committee(EASAC)

EASAC consists of the members of JSAC and the following members.

Please swipe the table to the left and see. Affiliation
Patrick Koch ASIAA
Vivien Chen National Tsing Hua University
Ya-Wen Tang ASIAA
Wei-Hao Wang ASIAA
Jongsoo Kim KASI
Sascha Trippe Seoul National University
Aeree Chung Yonsei University
Aran Lyo KASI